Upcoming Event

Title of the Event Here. Maximum 2 lines.

Ee Hoe Hean Club
Prof ABC, XYZ, JHR (single line)

Distinguished professors ABC, XYZ and JHR give their takes on the possibility of life on Mars, in light of the recent discovery of flowing water by NASA.


陈嘉庚基金每年邀请国际知名学者前来我国主持公开学术演讲以丰富我国人民的知识与生活。 多名学者教授先后受邀前来作专题演讲,其中包括李远哲教授、田长霖教授、王赓武教授等。

2006 - 2010


High School Auditorium
Dr. Henry Lee

The Influence of US sub-prime crisis to China Economic

Ee Hoe Hean Club
Prof Hu Haiou (Shanghai Jiao Tong University)

The Politics of Malaysia

Ee Hoe Hean Club
Mr Chong Tien Siong (Executive Director (Editorial) cum Editor In-Chief of Nanyang Siang Pau)
Chaired by: Mr Yan Meng Da ((Lian He Zao Bao)

Modern View of I Ching

NAFA Campus 1 (Wing B), Visual Arts Seminar Room
Prof Kerson Huang (Honorary Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technolog)

Is the International Financial Crisis over?

Ee Hoe Hean Club
Mr Zhang Jingdong (DJ, Radio 95.8)

Becoming Younger: Combination of Traditional Chinese Medical and Western Medical Treatment

Ee Hoe Hean Club
Dr Zhang Lei (Traditional Chinese Medical Consultant)

Joy from listening to music

Ee Hoe Hean Club
Mr Choo Thiam Siew (President, Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts)
Chaired by: Phua Kok Khoo (Chairman, Tan Kah Kee Foundation)

我的生平 (My Life)

Suntec Singapore
Prof Yang Chen Ning (Nobel Laureate, Physics (1957))
Chaired by: Prof Su Guaning (President, NTU)

2000 - 2005

Crossroads at Eighteen: Academic Experiences from Singapore and Beyond

Lecture Theatre 4, Hwa Chong Institution college section
Tan Hai Meng (PhD in microbiology, King's College, UK. R&D Director, Kemin Industries (Asia) Pte Ltd)
Lim Tai Wei (Cornell university, USA)
Eng Sher Ling, Clare (Yale University, USA) Chaired by: Miss Chua Ai Lin (PhD in History, Cambridge University, UK. Tan Kah Kee Scholars Alumni)

Are Singaporeans arrogant?

The Asian Civilisations Museum (Empress Place)
Dr Lien Siaou-Sze (Senior Vice President, HP Services Asia-Pacific)
Prof Hong Hai (Nanyang Business School)
Mr Leslie Fong (The Straits Times)
Dr Chan Yan Chong (City University of Hong Kong)
Mdm Rongzi (Popular Chinese Language writer and businesswomen)
Ms Low Yen Yen (Editor of Tangent)
Chaired by: Prof Eddie Kuo (School of Humanities and Social Sciences, NTU)

From Nanyang University to Nanyang Technological University - Review and Prospects of Chinese Education

Singapore Mandarin Hotel
Prof Su Guaning (President, Nanyang Technological University)
Chaired by: Prof Wang Gungwu (Director, East Asian Institute, NUS)

"Science and Education" in conjunction with the 20th Anniversary of the Foundation

Mandarin Singapore
Prof Lee Yuen Tseh (Nobel Laureate, Chemistry (1986))
Chaired by: Prof Eddie Huo (Director, School of Communication and Information, NTU)

"The Tan Kah Kee Spirit of Today" in conjunction with the 20th Anniversary of the Foundation

Mandarin Singapore
Prof Shih Choon Fong (President, NUS)
Mr Teo Ming Kian (Chairman, EDB)
Prof Wang Gungwu (Director, East Asian Institute, NUS)
Mr Mok Li Guang (former Chief Editor of the Nanyang Siang Pau)
Mr Robert Tsao (Chairman of UMC)
Prof Zhao Chun Jun (Dean of Scool of Economics and Management, Tsinghua University)
Prof Ng Yew Kwang (Monash University of Australia)
Prof Philip Leung Yuen-Sang (Dean of General Education, Chung Chi College, The Chinese University of Hong Kong)

Education - The Foundation of Creativity

Grant Ballroom, Singapore Marriott Hotel
Prof Yang Fu Jia (former President of Fudan University Chancellor, University of Nottingham)

Living in Space

Khoo Auditorium, SCGS
Miss Marsha Ivins (NASA Astronaut Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center National Aeronautics and Space Administration United States of America)


The Auditorium, The Chinese High School
Dr Louis Cha (Jin Yong)

Recent Advances of Biotechnology in China

Mandarin Hotel Ballroom
Prof Zhao Nanming (Dean, School of Life Sciences and Biotechnology, Tsinghua University, China)


Peking University and China

Mandarin Hotel Ballroom
Prof Chen Jiaer (President, Peking University, China)

Present and Future State of Science and Technology in China

Mandarin Hotel Ballroom
Prof Zhou Guangzhao (President, China Association of Science & Technology)
Prof Shen Shanjiong (Shanghai Institute of Physiology, Chinese Academy of Sciences)
Prof Lu Daopei (Beijing Medical University)
Prof Li Zhijian (Institute of Microelectronics, Tsinghua University)
Prof Shi Changxu (National Natural Science Foundation of China)

Role of Innovation in the 21st Century

Prof C Kumar N Patel (Vice-Chancellor for Research, University of California, Los Angeles)

Prospect of Science & Technology in Asia in the next Century

SCCCI Auditorium
Prof Lee Yuan Tseh (Nobel Laureate, Chemistry (1986))

Higher Education in U.S.A.

Dynasty Hotel Ballroom
Prof Tien Chianglin (Vice-Chancellor, University of California, Berkeley)

Theories of Music: East and West

RELC Auditorium
Prof Yu Ren Yang (President, Central Conservatory of Music, Beijing, China)


A Consequence of Abundance - The Technological Implication In the Information Intensive Society

SCCCI Auditorium
Prof Charles Kao Kuen (Vice-Chancellor, Chinese University of Hong Kong)

Scientific Research and Modern Society

SCCCI Auditorium
Prof Lee Yuan Tseh (Nobel Laureate, Chemistry (1986))

1. The Assimilation Question During the Early Decades of the 20th Century
2. Some Historical Reflections on Tan Kah Kee

SCCCI Auditorium
Prof Wang Gungwu (Hong Kong University)

The Quest for Knowledge - The Evolution of the Concepts of Symmetry

Kallang Theatre
Prof Yang Chen Ning (Nobel Laureate, Physics (1957))

East and West: The Singapore Perspective

DBS Auditorium
Prof Du Wei Ming (Harvard), Prof Yu Ying Shi (Yale), Prof Lu Cun Ren, Prof Liu Shu Xian Dr. Liang Yuan Sheng (NUS)

1. Prospects for Trade and Investment in the People's Republic of China
2. The New International Economic Order: Where do we go from here?

DBS Auditorium
Prof Wang Nian Tzu (University of Columbia)

Past Forums / Workshops / Talks

The Foundation organises forums on Creativity in the Arts, Science & Technology, focusing on the issue of how creativity can stimulate interaction in the Arts, Science and Technology and lead to new ideas and discoveries, creative works, innovations and inventions. The Forum also aims to promote greater interaction between practitioners in the Arts, Science and Technology. The Forum has national-level endorsement, as its Patron is Deputy Prime Minister, Mr. Teo Chee Hean.

2000 - 2010

Forum on Creativity in the Arts, Science & Technology 2006

SPRING Singapore
Liu Thai Ker (Chairman, National Arts Council), Adeline Mah Yen (Author of Falling Leaves), Deborah Chung (Niagara Mohawk Chair Professor of Materials Research, The State University of New York at Buffalo), Jackie Ying Yi-Ru (Executive Director, Institute of Bioengineering and Nanotechnology), Carmee Lim (Educationist and Former Principal of RGS), John Sharpley (Composer-in-Residence, Singapore Symphony Orchestra), Freddy Boey Yin Chiang (Acting Dean, School of Materials Engineering, NTU), Heng Chye Kiang (Head, Department of Architecture, School of Design and Environment, NUS)

Forum on Creativity in the Arts, Science & Technology 2004

The Chinese High School Auditorium
Prof Gerard 't Hooft, Dr William S W Lim, Dr Catherine Lim, Ms Lien Siaou-Sze, Mdm Fang Yuan, Khoo Seow Hwa, Prof Lim Hock, Ong Peng Tsin

Forum on Creativity in the Arts, Science & Technology 2003

SPRING Singapore
Prof Sir Harold Kroto FRS, Dr Jung Chang, Mr Aik Yew-goh, Prof Edison Liu, Mr Jack Neo, Dr WAM Alwis

Celebrations and Other Significant Events


20th Anniversary Gala Dinner

Mandarin Singapore
Guest-of-Honour: Dr. Tony Tan

20th Anniversary: Exhibition on the Life Story of Mr. Tan Kah Kee